This article will cover how to delete data — such as a Contact, Account, Lead, Opportunity, Activity or Feed — both singly and in groups of records.
Who can delete data?
Only users based on User Roles that explicitly grant Deletion rights will be able to delete data. For Enterprise Tier customers, User Roles are totally customisable so it is possible that you may be able to delete one type of record (e.g. Contact) without being able to delete others, such as Accounts. If you do not see a Delete button on the toolbar for the record you want to delete and you are the Owner of the record, please ask your Admin to delete it for you or ask them to change your user role.
Regardless of your user role, you still MUST be the Owner of a record in order to delete it. If you’re not the Owner, you’ll need to use the "Change" button next to the current Owner and make yourself the Owner before deleting the record. Whether you have the rights to change Ownership also depends on how you were set up as a user — you must have enhanced rights (Manager rights) within the Sales Unit that the record belongs to in order to change the Ownership to yourself ⤵
Re-linking related records before deleting
When deleting an Account or Contact record, for example, you are NOT also deleting any Leads, Opportunities or Activities linked to that record. To make sure these linked records are not “Orphaned” which can make them more difficult to find, you’ll need to delete them or link them to a different record, before deleting the Account or Contact.
Use the “Add another” button to add your replacement Account or Contact and then click on the "X" symbol to remove the existing related Account or Contact (or vice versa) ⤵
For Activities, open up the Activity and use the “Add another item” button in the same way.
As soon as you delete a record, it is no longer visible or accessible within Pipeliner, i.e. you can’t search for the record and it disappears from the Recent list and any reports or filters. However, if you open a record and delete it using the Delete button from the menu in the Detail screen, you have an option to Restore a record immediately after deletion. As soon as you close the record, the option is gone, so make sure you click on the Restore button immediately if you have made a mistake ⤵
Note that this option is not available if you delete a record from the List view or use the Delete button in the Compact View. It is also not possible to restore a group of deleted records. By Deleting a Contact you will no longer have this record in your system and will never be able to pull up that record again if you wanted to call them or email them because that information is no longer available for you to see.
Deleting a single Account or Contact
Having checked you are the Owner of the record, click on the Delete button (visible in the Compact View, from the List view or from an Open record — note the Restore option is only available when deleting from an Open record) ⤵
Deleting multiple Accounts or Contacts
The easiest way to delete multiple Contacts is to use the Power Panel filter tab to help you narrow down which records to delete and then to select the List View.
Next, use the checkboxes to select the Contacts you wish to delete or click in the top left checkbox to select all records in your selected profile ⤵
Click the "Delete" button on the toolbar ⤵
NOTE: if you’ve forgotten that you need to be the Owner in order to delete records, you can still use your Profile, select the records in the List View and then use the Ownership button to change the Owner to yourself for all the selected records. Once that’s finished, you’ll then be able to delete them ⤵
Deleting Leads or Opportunity Records
Opportunities and Leads must be archived before they can be deleted. You can archive Leads individually or by selecting multiple Leads using the List View in the Leads menu. Opportunities are archived one-by-one and you need to select a Lost Reason for each one.
Understand how to archive opportunities.
Once your Leads and Opportunities are Archived, click on the Archive menu and, as long as you are the Owner of the Lead or Opportunity (and you have deletion rights, of course), you will be able to delete the record.
You can delete Opportunities individually or use the List View. Remember that the Restore button is only available when you open a record and delete it individually.
Open up the Leads panel on the left hand side to view and delete Archived Leads. Depending on your browser, you can CTRL/CMD click to select several Leads and then delete in one go.
NOTE: Depending on your user role, you may not be able to Archive an Opportunity that you do not Own ⤵
This sort of message in Pipeliner generally means you do not have the rights to perform the action and you’ll need to ask your Admin for assistance ⤵
Deleting Profile Views
If you have created a profile view within any menu, you are the Owner of that profile and you can delete it (even if you have shared it with other users).
Select the Profile View you wish to delete from the drop-down in the upper right of your window ⤵
Next, while in that profile, click on the double gears to open the Power Panel ⤵
Lastly, click the single gear in the upper right within the Power Panel, and select "Delete" ⤵
NOTE: when deleting a Profile, it is also deleted for anyone you shared it with.
NOTE: if another user created a profile and shared it with you, you will NOT be able to delete that profile.
Deleting a Report
If you have created a Report, you are the Owner of that report and you can delete it (even if you have shared it with other users).
From the Reports menu, select the report you wish to delete ⤵
Click on the Delete button on the menu or click on the “Report Settings” button in the top right to open the Power Panel.
Lastly select the single gear in the upper right of the power panel, and click on "Delete" ⤵
NOTE: when deleting a Report, it is also deleted for anyone you shared it with.
NOTE: if another user created a report and shared it with you, you will NOT be able to delete that report.
Deleting a single Activity
If you have created an Activity, as the owner of that activity, only you are able to delete it, even if it was shared with others.
Select the activity, the "Delete" button is then available on the toolbar of the detail page ⤵
Delete Multiple Activities
Select the Activities List view by clicking the drop-down in the upper right. Check all the items you wish to delete, click the "Delete" button ⤵
Deleting a Feed Message or Email
The Feed Message needs to have been created by you or the Email linked directly by you in order for you to be able to Delete it. Click on the Feed item from the Feeds tab of the record, from the right hand panel in the Compact View of any record or from the main Feeds menu. This will open up the Feed, now select the three dots and "Remove" to delete ⤵