🤷‍♂️ What’s a User Role? ….

… each user is based on a User Role which acts as the security framework to determine what they can access in Pipeliner.

🔆 Why are User Roles useful?

User roles are a huge time (and brain) saver as, with a single click, they allow you to apply a ‘Template’ for each new user that you add.

And there’s more!  If you’re an Enterprise Tier customer, you can create as many custom user roles as you need to make sure each type of user has the exact rights that you decide on.

🔑 Key Terminology

Entities — record types

One of Account (Company), Contact, Lead (unqualified enquiry), Opportunity, Task, Appointment.

👥 Units (sales unit)

Territory, team, business unit.

Users can be assigned to more than one.  See the following article for more detail.

🔐 Access rights

Update, or edit, rights to the records that the user has visibility of.

🗝️ Owner

User who currently has primary responsibility for that individual record.

✏️ Editor

Additional user(s) added to the record who can update all details.

💼 Manager Rights

Enhanced rights to records within a unit (or units) allocated to an individual user when they are created.

🆒 Features

Main menu areas of Pipeliner which correspond to those shown below from the App plus security considerations such as Export rights.

⌨️ Administration

All the areas found only in the Admin Module.

What do customers choose and what would this look like?

Well, it’s important to note that there are no right or wrong answers to any of the choices - our security model can support any combination of rights you could want for every different sort of role within your own company.

In real life though, most customers generally opt for more visibility (and, often, update rights to Accounts and Contacts) and a bit less for Leads and Opportunities.

These are some common choices for a Sales User type role.

Entities

🏢 Accounts and 🤝 Contacts

⛳ Leads and 💰 Opportunities

🎯 Pipelines

✅ Activities (Tasks and Appointments)

🆒 Features

⌨️ Administration

😰 Don’t panic, you can change your mind!

Just remember, if you’ve set up custom roles and then users complain that they can’t see or do something they need to, you can edit the roles with a few clicks and your users will inherit their new rights with a simple browser refresh!

Related Articles/Next Steps

Did this answer your question?