This article covers the following:

The "List View" works like a spreadsheet and lets you sort by clicking on column headers. It’s the best way to easily see what fields are, or are not, filled in for a group of records. You can access the "List View" in Leads, Opportunities, Accounts, Contacts, Activities and the Archive. Inline Editing allows you to update records directly without needing to open the record. The "List View" is the one to use when selecting batches of records to bulk update or change ownership. Each individual user can customise the columns in all of their own List Views.

Click on the "Views" dropdown and select “List View” ⤵

Searching within the List View

You can search directly within any "List View". All searchable fields are highlighted with the search icon ⤵

Inline Editing

One of the main advantages of the "List View" is that you can directly update, or “Inline edit” the records in the list.

Hover over a field in the list and, if the field is directly editable, a pencil symbol will appear. Click on the icon to edit the field.

Different fields behave in different ways — for example, if you click to edit the "Contact Name" field, you can directly edit the name but you also have access to an “Advanced View” which also allows you to open up the extended name fields including Salutation and Middle Name. Click on the "X" button in the bottom right to close the editing box ⤵

As another example, if you click to edit the Owner field, you’ll be able to update both sales unit and owner, and keep the current owner as an Editor

Records containing invalid data — for example, sales units that have been deleted — will also clearly display for you to update directly ⤵

NOTE: Some system fields that you may include in your "List View" — for example, Creation Date of a record — will never be editable so the pencil symbol will not appear when you hover over one of those fields.

More ways of working with Records from the List View

Click on the down arrow at the end of any record to “Copy”, “Change Ownership” or “Delete” the record.

NOTE: Whether or not any user has the rights to delete a record is decided by a Pipeliner admin and is set by the user role in the Admin module. In addition to rights given by a user’s role, the user must be the "Owner" of the record in order to delete it. If not the Owner, the “Delete” option will not be visible ⤵

Clicking on any record in the list will open up the right-hand panel with the record summary (this is the same summary view that you see in the Compact View).

You can work with the selected record without needing to open it by using one of the options from the summary panel — click on the Add dropdown, for example, to select from the list of options including adding a new Task or Opportunity ⤵

NOTE: The pencil icon next to the Owner name in the summary panel shows you that you can “Inline edit” the Owner directly.

Selecting Multiple Records

As you select a record in the "List View", menu buttons — such as “Ownership”, “Use Template” and “Create Email” — will become visible. Often you’ll want to apply these actions, along with “Bulk Update” or “Export”, to a batch of records.

You can select multiple records on an “Ad Hoc” basis simply by clicking to select and then apply the action. For example, if you click to select several records and then select “Create Email” you’ll be able to send a “Standard” or a “Mass” email to all the records you’ve chosen ⤵

Clicking in the top-left checkbox will select the whole list ⤵

NOTE: Use filters to define exactly which records you want to see in your list.

Customising the List View

Each individual user can select exactly which columns, or fields, they want to include when they select a "List View" in any area of Pipeliner. Click on the icon in the top right and the list of available fields will be shown. Fields currently included in the list will already be ticked, untick to remove them. Any additional fields can be added by selecting from the list ⤵

Once you’ve chosen the fields, they will remain selected until you change your mind and they only apply to you. However, if you are creating a custom profile and intend to share it with colleagues, you can also share your "List View" column choices.

Before you start selecting your columns, make sure to switch on “Synchronise columns with profile” and then choose your columns as normal ⤵

If you then share your custom profile, when another user accesses your profile and uses the "List View", they will see the columns you have selected ⤵

You can also use the “Column Chooser” button from the View tab in the Power Panel to switch on “Synchronise columns with List View” and to select the columns you wish to include ⤵

Did this answer your question?